skip to primary navigationskip to content

Cambridge Academics elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology

last modified Mar 21, 2014 11:14 AM

Two Cambridge academics have been elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology.

Vassilis Koronakis is Professor of Molecular Biology in the Department of Pathology. His high-resolution structures of the TolC outer-membrane 'channel-tunnel' and the periplasmic adaptor that recruits TolC have illuminated how drugs and proteins are expelled from bacteria. Additionally, his laboratory studies how Salmonella and E. coli use type III effector proteins to subvert host cytoskeletal dynamics, and is exploiting these virulence factors as tools to study fundamental eukaryotic processes.

Sharon Peacock is Professor of Clinical Microbiology in the Departments of Medicine and Pathology, and Chair of Cambridge Infectious Diseases. Her primary research interest focuses on the role of sequencing technologies in diagnostic microbiology and public health. This follows a study demonstrating for the first time that whole genome sequencing of methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) could define transmission pathways at both global and local levels

 Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. There are over 2,400 Fellows representing all subspecialties of microbiology, including basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service.

Academy website